Treaty of Lausanne (1923)

The Treaty of Sevrés imposed on the Ottoman Empire after World War I destroyed Turkey as a national state and was not recognized by the nationalist government under Mustafa Kemal Pasha. 

During the 'War of Independence' revolution, the nationalist defeated the Greeks and overthrew the sultan, so Atatürk’s (Mustafa Kemal Pasha) government requested a new peace treaty. 

The Treaty of Lausanne ended the conflict and defined the borders of the modern Turkish Republic.

In the treaty, Turkey gave up all claims to the remainder of the Ottoman Empire and in return the Allies recognised Turkish sovereignty within its new borders.

The Treaty of Lausanne was signed on July 24, 1923.