The German Revolution of 1918

The German Revolution of 1918 began in the Port City of Kiel as soldiers committed mutiny and refused to go out to sea on a suicide mission against the British Navy. 

The German revolution became much larger scale with two main demands from the German People, the German Army, Prince Max, and the Allies who threatened to invade Germany if their demands were not fulfilled. The main demands were that the Kaiser had to abdicate and that Germany should become a Socialist Republic.

To push for their demands, German Citizens marched into the Berlin City Centre and protested against the Kaiser's Government. Prince Max announced that the Kaiser would abdicate and he was taken to neutral Holland to spend the rest of his life in exile.

After the Kaiser abdicated, a new Socialist Government was formed, called the Weimar Government. Their first act was the signing of the despised Treaty of Versailles in the Hall of Mirrors in the Palace of Versailles, France.

The German Revolution also established a new electoral law that included women's suffrage (the right to vote).


Mutiny: soldiers going against their commanders/leaders/officers (e.g. not following the Kaiser's instructions)

Socialist (socialism): a political and economic theory of social organization which advocates that the means of production, distribution, and exchange should be owned or regulated by the community as a whole [definition from Oxford]

Exile: being taken out or banned from one's home country, usually for political reasons or criminal acts (e.g. treason)