The Paris Peace Conference

The Paris Peace Conference took place between January 1919 and January 2020, with representatives from over 27 countries coming to the Hall of Mirrors in the Palace of Versailles (France) to presents their wishes and ideas for the treaty to the victors. The defeated nations; Germany, Austria-Hungary and the Ottoman Empire were not invited to the conference.

The Treaty of Versailles was one of the five treaties decided at the Paris Peace Conference, along with the Treaty of Saint-Germain-en-Laye, the Treaty of Neuilly-sur-Seine, the Treaty of Trianon and the Treaty of Sèvres

Most of the terms and decisions were to be decided by The Big Five; Britain (PM David Lloyd George), France (PM Georges Clemenceau), the US (President Woodrow Wilson), Italy (PM Vittorio Emanuele Orlando) and Japan (PM Hara Takashi). However, due to a disagreement between them, Italian Prime Minister Orlando stormed out of the conference and quit. Also, Japan only played a small role. Essentially, the Paris Peace Conference and its subsequent treaties were decided by The Big Three; Britain (Prime Minister David Lloyd George), France (Prime Minister Georges Clemenceau), and the US (President Woodrow Wilson).