The Treaty of Versailles (1919)

Treaty of Versailles:

  • Germany signed on 28 June 1919

  • Alsace and Lorraine returned to France, Eupen and Malmédy to Belgium, West Prussia to Poland, and North Schleswig returned to Denmark

  • German colonies in Africa became mandates under the league

  • The demilitarisation of the Rhineland

  • The Saar Valley would be administered by the League of Nations for 15 years, and France could use its coal mines. A plebiscite would be held after 15 years to decide its return to either Germany or France

  • The German army was limited to 100 000 troops, no tanks, military aircrafts, submarines and only 6 battleships

  • Anschluss between Austria and Germany was forbidden

  • Forced to sign the ‘War Guilt Clause’