Locarno Conference

  • The Locarno Conference took place from 5–16 October 1925, and officially signed in London on 1 December by Germany, Britain, France, Belgium and Italy.

  • The Locarno Conference was aimed to create greater stability in Europe.

  • Germany, France and Belgium respected their joint frontiers. This meant that the borders agreed at the Paris Peace Conference were confirmed and accepted. No military action was allowed to be taken unless it was defensive.

  • A treaty of Mutual Guarantee was also created, which meant that Britain and Italy would assist any country that fell victim to any act of aggression that violated the Locarno Treaties.

  • The Locarno Conference also greatly improved relations between Germany and France.

  • The German foreign minister Gustav Stresemann wanted to restore German prestige and privileges as a European nation so he was willing to accept the losses in the Treaty of Versailles.

  • He accepted the loss of Alsace Lorraine, Eupen and Malmedy. This meant that there would be no future occurrences such as the French Invasion of the Ruhr.

  • Germany was even accepted into the League of Nations in 1926.

  • However, France was still very cautious about Germany and was still scared of a German invasion.